1. Home
  2. Integrating with External Services
  3. Integrating with Zoom

Integrating with Zoom

You can link your Zoom account so that PoleBuddy can automatically create meetings for your online classes, and send those links automatically to students. This allows you to schedule online classes without doing anything.

Automatically scheduling meetings

Link to your paid Zoom account

We require control of your Zoom account so we can create the meetings on your behalf. This requires the Zoom REST API, which is what allows us to control your account. Currently, this is only available with the paid version of Zoom (see https://zoom.us/pricing). Please ensure you have a paid account before trying to link your account, otherwise Zoom will not let you link your account.

  1. Go into Settings > Integrations and click “Connect Zoom”.
  2. You will be prompted to login to your paid Zoom account.
  3. You will be redirected back to the settings page showing your account as connected.

You can disconnect your account at any time which will prevent us from accessing your account to create meetings, however any previously created meetings will remain valid unless you cancel them in Zoom directly.

Select which courses to run online

We only create online meetings for the courses you choose.

  1. Go into Studio > Courses > find the course > “Edit”.
  2. Go into the Teaching section.
  3. Tick the box to enable the automatic creation of online classes in Zoom.
  4. Click Save in the top right “action area”.

Wait for meetings to be created

Approximately half an hour before the class is scheduled to start, we will create the meeting in your Zoom account. The links to join as student, or start the meeting as staff will be visible in the class dialog from the Timetable. If no information appears, we haven’t created a meeting yet for that class.

Starting a class

The links to join as student, or start the meeting as staff will be visible in the class dialog from the Timetable. If no information appears, we haven’t created a meeting yet for that class. A link will appear to start the meeting as the host. Alternatively, you can login to your Zoom account and have the meeting appear in your list of meetings.

Manually edit meeting information

You can edit the Zoom information at any time. View the class in the timetable and any meeting scheduled will appear. Otherwise a link to manage the online links will appear. This lets you edit the links, and add additional information to appear to students. A link also appears in there to manually create the Zoom meeting before the 30 minute window when we automatically create it.

Disconnecting Zoom

You can disconnect your Zoom account at any time:

  1. Go into Settings > Integrations and click “Connect Zoom“.
  2. You will be prompted to login to your paid Zoom account
  3. You will be redirected back to the settings page showing your account as connected.

You can also uninstall the integration from your Zoom account directly via Zoom:

  1. Login to your Zoom Account and navigate to the Zoom App Marketplace.
  2. Click Manage > Installed Apps or search for the StudioBuddy app.
  3. Click the StudioBuddy app.
  4. Click Uninstall.

You can disconnect your account at any time which will prevent us from accessing your account to create meetings, however any previously created meetings will remain valid unless you cancel them in Zoom directly.

Troubleshooting

If you experience any issues with Zoom we recommend disconnecting and re-connecting your account. Otherwise please contact your support representative at the details on the bottom of this page. As part of our commitment to you we continually monitor the platform for any issues that may arise so we can resolve them as soon as possible.

Using Zoom without a paid account

You can run Zoom without a paid account using one of two ways:

  1. Create a single meeting in your Zoom account and put the link into the course emails that go out one hour before class starts using either the “first class” or “subsequent class” reminders. This requires you to create the meeting once only, but the same meeting will be used for ALL classes in a course. This means someone with a link from a prior class could try and sneak in using the same link in the future.
  2. You can create a single meeting in your Zoom account and put the link into individual classes. This means the information appears to the students in the same location as if it were created automatically, and have the link appear in the class information dialog for staff. However, you must manually to this for each class, but going into it in the timetable, and in the top left selecting the “Edit online links” link. This will let you edit the student link, staff link, and any other information to appear with it, e.g. password. If you do this option, you will need to manually send the links to students.

Using option one above is less effort, but means students may abuse the same meeting link if its reused. The second option allows you set a different meeting for each class, but means additional manual overhead to create and save the links into the classes.

Questions?

We’re here to support you. Please contact us through your studio’s support group, or use the in-built chat function in your staff view (chat icon in the top right of any page). Zoom support is provided by us, not Zoom. Response times will be in-line with your normal support (approximately 12h, maximum 24h). Support staff are available 9a-5p, Mon-Fri (Adelaide, Australia timezone).

Was this article helpful to you Yes No

How can we help